top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatilda

Go-To Gestational Diabetic Snacks

I was diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes at 28 weeks pregnant with my Son, and I struggled the most with snacks. I avoided anything containing added sugar, but what I wasn't fully aware of was the natural sugars in fruits etc and also the dangers of consuming too many carbohydrates in a gestational diabetic pregnancy. I was eating things like crackers & wraps and wondering why I was still seeing spikes in my blood sugar levels. Through my second pregnancy with my Daughter (diagnosed GD at 19 weeks) I got into the swing of things much easier, sought out advice and other's experiences to help me get through a bit easier. I discovered these things like crackers are okay to eat if you don't eat them alone! The best way to eat is to pair different food groups together. Continue to avoid anything with added sugar, pre-made sauces and packets, but when eating foods with naturally occurring sugars like fresh fruit - pair these with proteins or healthy fats. These will assist 'dilute' the sugars so they are released into the blood stream slower - preventing spikes! Perfect pairs include eating plenty of cheese with your crackers or putting natural peanut butter on slices of apple!


 

Here are some of my favourite go-to snacks:


1. Ryvita & Butter

Ryvita Rye Crispbreads with lightly salted butter was my favourite snack at work. I could keep a packet in the cupboard and some butter in the fridge and just grab some when I got hungry. Quick and easy, and also filling!


2. Strawberries & Cream

Another of my favourites was some fresh strawberries (or any other fruit!) with a good helping of double cream. The fat in the cream paired with the natural sugars in the strawberries meant I didn't see any spikes in my blood sugar levels after eating! This makes the perfect dessert too!



3. Breadsticks & Hummus

Breadsticks alone would cause spikes in most GD cases, so I would dunk these in Hummus to combat this. You can buy different flavoured pots too, just be careful they haven't had sugars added to them! If I were having a particularly higher day I would swap the breadsticks for carrot sticks!


4. Greek Salad

I am a lover of all things Greek. A salad done the greek way is a perfect snack for on-the-go. Chop cucumber, peppers, red onions & feta cheese into little chunks. Add these to a bowl with some olives, Greek herbs if you've got some & a little olive oil. Mix all together and that's it done! Perfect for picking at. Just make sure to avoid the tomatoes if possible or only add a little with plenty of feta cheese to pair with.



5. Peperami & Babybel

These are a great snack just on their own. The spicy version of Peperami are good too for a little kick! Either eat them together or separately. These are good to keep some of in your handbag in case of threatened Hypos!


6. Fridge Raiders

These little packets of chicken-y goodness are lifesavers. You can add them to some salad or just eat them out of the packet and they come in several flavours too. The southern-fried ones are lovely in a wholemeal wrap with some lettuce, lots of cheese and a little mayonnaise!


7. Vegetable Crisps

You can get these in flavours, but I like the plain salted versions best. It's just veggies like beetroot, sweet potato & parsnip sliced thinly and baked or fried til they are crispy and golden. Full of flavour and the crunch is satisfying when hungry!



 

Whatever you decide to snack on, remember natural proteins and healthy fats are gonna be your best friends! When in doubt, eat everything with cheese or grab a handful of nuts to go with it just in case. Ensure to test your blood sugar levels at regular intervals, especially when trying different foods to make sure you can tolerate your choices well. Everyone's bodies react differently & what works for one may not work for another. Experiment with different food combinations til you find snacks you enjoy that don't harm yourself or that precious little Sugar Baby!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page